August 9 - 11 2019

AvD Oldtimer Grand Prix

LOCATION: Nurburg, 70km south of Cologne, 120km north west of Frankfurt

NEAREST AIRPORT: Cologne-Bonn (79kms), Frankfurt (165kms), Dusseldorf (152kms), Luxembourg (123kms)

August 9 - 11 - 2016

AvD Oldtimer Grand Prix

LOCATION: Nurburg, 70km south of Cologne, 120km north west of Frankfurt

NEAREST AIRPORT: Cologne-Bonn (79kms), Frankfurt (165kms), Dusseldorf (152kms), Luxembourg (123kms)


Nostalgic racing history, German festival atmosphere and a challenging driver’s track ensured some great racing and game-changing overtaking at the 47th AvD Oldtimer Grand Prix!



Stretton holds off Cantillon for win in first FIA Masters Historic Formula One race at the Nürburgring


Martin Stretton led from lights to flag to win the first FIA Masters Historic Formula One race at the Nürburgring but the Tyrrell 012 driver was made to work hard for it. Beating pole man Matteo Ferrer-Aza (Ligier JS11/15) off the line, Stretton soon had Mike Cantillon’s Williams FW07C to deal with. The Irishman closed to six tenths at the chequered flag but Stretton had him covered.


Ferrer dropped out from third as his Ligier lost a wheel 11 laps into the race, handing the final podium spot to Jamie Constable in the Tyrrell 011. Christophe d’Ansembourg put in a storming race in his Williams FW07C to claim fourth from the fifth row of the grid.


Henry Fletcher (March 761) kept with the post-78 cars in the first half of the race but then dropped to seventh overall, which was enough to still win the pre-78 class from Jason Wright (Shadow DN8). On the final lap, Michel Baudoin (Hesketh 308E) took third in class.

Stretton takes second win of the weekend in eventful FIA Masters Historic Formula One race at the Nürburgring


From eighth on the grid, Martin Stretton stormed his way to the front to also win the second FIA Masters Historic Formula One race at the Nürburgring. The Tyrrell 012 driver hit the front on lap 7, passing Jonathan Holtzman’s Lotus 87B and Jamie Constable’s Tyrrell 011, the pair tangling on the penultimate lap to hand second place to Matteo Ferrer-Aza’s Ligier JS11/15.


In fourth, Joaquin Folch’s Brabham BT49 took the final post-78 podium spot.


In an eventful race twice interrupted by safety cars, Henry Fletcher held on to the lead for six laps to drop five places on one lap, but still took third overall (and a second pre-78 class win of the weekend) in his March 761.


Having started from pole, Jason Wright (Shadow DN8) ran second early on and salvaged fifth overall and second place in the pre-78 class, heading home the two local heroes –Harald Becker’s Arrows A3 and Georg Hallau’s Theodore N183. Austrian Franz Guggemos took third in the pre-78 by finishing ninth overall in his Hill GH2.



Wright & Wolfe rumble to FIA Masters Historic Sports Car win at the ‘Ring


Jason Wright and Andy Wolfe (Lola T70 Mk3B) won from the front to grab FIA Masters Historic Sports Car glory at the ‘Ring, but had to deal with strong opposition from Michael Gans. The American’s Lola T290 had overtaken Wright just before the pit window and stayed out long to create a five-second gap to Wright’s team mate Wolfe. Once settled in, Wolfe reclaimed the lead on lap 21 to win by 14 seconds from Gans. Gans was later disqualified for a safety car infringement.


After a race-long fight with Manfredo Rossi’s Osella-Abarth PA1, Henry Fletcher took third in the Chevron B26, while Marc Devis took fifth in the McLaren M8C. The Leo Voyazides/Simon Hadfield challenge suffered from a puncture for the Greek but from a lap down Hadfield fought back to claim sixth – back on the lead lap, and with fastest lap of the race.


Despite some serious first-lap setbacks, Chris Jolly and Steve Farthing (Cooper Monaco T61M) won the pre-66 Hulme class, their work made easier by Keith Ahlers beaching his Cooper Monaco King Cobra in the chicane’s gravel trap early on. The Mark Shaw/Chris Drake McLaren M1B featured in the opening stages but in the end dropped behind Richard McAlpine’s similar car.


John Sheldon looked to have cornered the Siffert-class win, running a strong seventh overall, but his Chevron B16 faltered with five laps to go. This handed the class win to Rolf Lamberty’s B16. In the Bonnier class, Mark Owen starred early on, his Chevron B8 at one time running as high as sixth overall, but Uwe Bruschnik’s Porsche 910 came through to win the class, just seconds ahead of the Julian Thomas/Robin Ellis B8, that grabbed second place in class despite an early unscheduled stop for Thomas.


Thomas & Wolfe beat Pastorelli to Masters Gentlemen Drivers win at the ‘Ring


Julian Thomas and his ‘supersub’ team mate Andy Wolfe fought off a race-long challenge by Nicky Pastorelli’s Ferrari 250 GTO/64 to win a thrilling Masters Gentlemen Drivers race at the Oldtimer Grand Prix event. The rival Shelby Cobra Daytona Coupé of Leo Voyazides/Simon Hadfield finished third, ahead of local heroes Christopher Stahl and Oliver Mathai in their TVR Griffith.


The winning Shelby Cobra Daytona Coupé led the entire race, save for a short spell after the stops, as both Thomas and Wolfe failed to succumb to fierce pressure from Pastorelli’s Ferrari. Meanwhile, Nicolaj Kjaergaard looked to have cornered the CLP class win by taking fifth overall in his Lotus Elan, the Dane having passed the ailing Rob Fenn/Jake Hill Elan with 20 minutes to go. In post-race scrutineering, however, a non-conformity showed up in Kjaergaard’s Elan. This gave Fenn and Hill the class win after all, ahead of Mark Martin’s Elan and German Malte Müller-Wrede’s Marcos 1800 GT.


Keith Ahlers and Billy Bellinger dominated the C2 class, their Morgan SLR leading from start to finish. In C1, three Porsche 911s diced hard for the class win, Peter Tognola’s example coming out on top.


D’Ansembourg fends off Cantillon to win first Aston Martin Masters Endurance Legends race at the ‘Ring


Christophe d’Ansembourg took a hard-fought win in the first Aston Martin Masters Endurance Legends at the Oldtimer Grand Prix event, the Belgian’s Lola Aston Martin DBR1-2 deciding a race-long battle with Mike Cantillon’s Pescarolo-Judd 01 as just six tenths separated the pair on the line.


An equally tense battle for P2 class glory came to an end two minutes from the finish when Mike Newton had to abort his attack on Keith Frieser’s lead in the ORECA-Nissan 03. Newton’s MG-Lola EX257 had been leading the class in the opening phase but Frieser managed to get ahead at the stops and defended a two-second lead when Newton’s MG-Lola disappeared from Frieser’s mirrors.


Behind the two invitational Aston Martin Vantage V12 GT3 cars that in the hands of Oliver Mathai and Timo Scheibner ran home fifth and sixth, Dominik Roschmann (Ferrari 458 GTC) came out on top of a thrilling GT battle with the 458 GTEs of Ulrich Schuhmacher and Tina Kok. The latter initially led the class but a spin dropped her behind Roschmann and Schuhmacher.


D’Ansembourg doubles up at the ‘Ring with second Aston Martin Masters Endurance Legends win


Christophe d’Ansembourg made it two out of two at the Oldtimer Grand Prix event by also winning the second Aston Martin Masters Endurance Legends race at the Nürburgring. The Belgian was chased to the line by Mike Cantillon whose Pescarolo-Judd 01 cut a 24-second deficit after the stops to half a second at the chequered flag.


Mike Newton won a tense P2-class fight with Keith Frieser, his MG-Lola EX257 crossing the line four tenths ahead of the Canadian’s ORECA-Nissan 03, the pair having swapped places twice during the race.


The GT class saw a storming drive from the back of the grid by Nikolaus Ditting to finish fifth overall in his Aston Martin DBR9 GT1 machine. Denmark’s Tina Kok took a strong second place in class with her Ferrari 458 GTE, while Marc Devis grabbed third in his Porsche 996 GT3 RS.