August 31 - 2 - 2016

Historic Grand Prix





Furiani & Coronel steal last-lap Masters Pre-66 Touring Car win at Zandvoort

In a thrilling finish to the Masters Pre-66 Touring Car race at Zandvoort’s Historic Grand Prix meeting, Tom Coronel stole victory from Andy Wolfe when the latter’s Ford Falcon Sprint was baulked by backmarkers on the final lap. Using his local knowledge, the Dutchman – in the Alfa Romeo GTA he shared with German Alex Furiani – kept to the outside in Gerlach corner and nipped past on the inside of the following Hugenholtz corner, leaving Wolfe stuck behind the two slower cars until the end of the turn.

In a carbon-copy move, Calum Lockie’s Ford Falcon took third overall – and second in the American V8 class – by nipping past Mark Martin’s Cortina, also on that amazing final lap. In fifth, John Spiers’ Lotus Cortina took third in the under-2-litre class while John Burton’s Ford Mustang finished third of the big cars.

With Andrew Haddon in the car, the Martin/Haddon Cortina had led the way until the pitstops, chased by the Falcons of Mike Gardiner and Julian Thomas, Thomas passing Gardiner on lap 8, while Alex Furiani fought his way back up to fourth after a first-lap excursion into the Tarzan gravel. A lengthy safety-car period caused by Liam Sullivan’s Mini getting stuck at the chicane, having lost its left-front wheel, shuffled the order but Coronel and Wolfe – now in Gardiner’s Falcon – were soon into the top-two positions.

In the Mini class, Chris Middlehurst starred by taking third overall but a 21-second time penalty for stopping four seconds short at the pitstops dropped him down to seventh behind Ian Curley, who in the process was handed the class win.

Padmore paces first FIA Masters Historic Formula One race at Zandvoort

Nick Padmore did what he had to do by winning the first FIA Masters Historic Formula One race at Zandvoort from pole, along the way setting a fastest lap almost as quick as his pole time before easing off and controlling the pace to the flag.

Behind the Williams FW07C, however, all eyes were on a tense battle between the two pre-78 class leaders, Jason Wright’s Shadow DN8 initially leading Greg Thornton’s March 761, now equipped with what he called his ‘donkey’ engine after his first DFV failed halfway into yesterday’s qualifying. The pair fought hard lap after lap, Thornton finally getting past on lap 8 after the two ran side-by-side into Tarzan corner in true Hunt/Andretti style but without hitting each other. Wright then continued to track the March but Thornton narrowly held on for the class win.

Andrew Beaumont’s Lotus 81 and Alexander Furiani’s Surtees TS20 were a distant fourth and fifth while Neil Glover (Arrows A5) did well to chase and pass Georg Hallau’s Theodore N183 for sixth.

Race 2 is at 15:00 on Sunday.

Hart/Pastorelli storm to home win in FIA Masters Historic Sports Cars at Zandvoort

Local heroes David Hart and Nicky Pastorelli won at their home track by taking their Lola T70 Mk3B to a popular win in the FIA Masters Historic Sports Car race at Zandvoort. In his opening stint, Hart took the lead from Leo Voyazides’ similar T70 Mk3B on lap 2 and opened up a 12-second lead towards the pitstops. With Pastorelli in the car, their lead grew to 15 seconds over Simon Hadfield in the rival car, Hadfield unable to close the gap.

Jason Wright’s T70 Mk3B took a fighting third, battling with the Gonçalo Gomes/James Claridge Lola T212 and Marc Devis in the Chevron B19 all the way. Devis dropped out on lap 30. Henry Fletcher, in another B19, briefly led on lap 6 but threw away his lead with a spin on lap 8 and then dropped further down the order when he had to make a second pitstop after stopping too short during his mandatory stop. He continued to finish fifth.

Julian Thomas and Calum Lockie won the Bonnier class, Thomas passing Mark Owen for the class lead on lap 2, and then maintaining a six-second lead to the rival Chevron B8. Greg Thornton was third initially but was forced to retire with clutch issues on lap 12. This allowed Paul Ingram’s B8 into third. Ingram was elevated into second when Andrew Owen crawled into the pits on lap 23, throttle linkage broken. Despite a drivethrough penalty for speeding in the pitlane, Frazer Gibney;s B8 took third in class.

The Siffert-class battle was prematurely decided when Jamie Boot had to retire with steering issues after his Chevron B16 touched with Hart’s leading Lola on lap 8. No further action was required on the contact. John Sheldon had been consummately leading the class anyway, and the Le Mans veteran duly took the class win.

Andy Wolfe takes Masters Gentlemen Drivers win at Zandvoort after Pastorelli challenge fades

Andy Wolfe was fighting hammer and tongues with Nicky Pastorelli for an hour of the 90-minute Masters Gentlemen Drivers, the Dutch-run Ferrari 250 GTO/64 recreation hounded all the way by Wolfe’s Cobra before Wolfe got past after the pitstops, the Ferrari retiring with a failed clutch soon after.

This moved the Alexander van der Lof/Yelmer Buurman AC Cobra up into second place, the Dutch pairing having inherited the position of leading chasers after the David Hart/Tom Coronel Shelby Cobra Daytona Coupé faltered right after the stops.

In third overall, Dale & Aaron Head drove a stunning race to win the CLP class by a full lap over the similar Lotus Elan of Mark Martin and Andrew Haddon. Leo Voyazides and Simon Hadfield claimed fifth after a storming drive from the back, having been forced to start from the pitlane.

In C2, Keith Ahlers and Billy Bellinger dominated all the way in their Morgan SLR to finish ninth overall. Initially, they were chased by the Crispin Harris/James Wilmoth Austin Healey 3000, Harris driving the first stint, but after the pitstops the David Smithies/Chris Clarkson Healey took over the mantle, with Clarkson at the wheel.

The Dutch GT race that ran concurrently for 60 minutes of the 90-minute Gentlemen Drivers race, was dominated by the Allard Kalff/Michiel Campagne Chevrolet Corvette Grand Sport.

Padmore doubles up in FIA Masters Historic Formula One at Zandvoort

Nick Padmore duly took the double at Zandvoort as his Williams FW07C powered its way up the order from eighth on the reversed grid to lead by lap 3 and then control the pace in the second FIA Masters Historic Formula One race on the Dutch track in the dunes.

In Padmore’s tracks, Jason Wright rose up to second in his Shadow DN8 but on lap 4 the American had to give way to an even quicker Greg Thornton, handing the March 761 driver a second pre-78 class win of the weekend. Wright kept pushing Thornton all the way, eventually finishing only four tenths down on the pre-78 championship leader.

Behind the top-three, Alex Furiani (Surtees TS20) and Andrew Beaumont (Lotus 81) had an exciting battle for fourth, Beaumont taking the place after going side-by-side with the German through Tarzan on lap 11. Neil Glover (Arrows A5) took sixth to claim the final post-78 spot on the podium.