June 28 - 30 - 2016

French Historic Grand Prix

LOCATION: Nevers, Magny Cours

NEAREST AIRPORT: Paris Orly (250kms) , Charles de Gaulle (280kms)


The second running of the Grand Prix de France Historique took place under sweltering conditions! Circuit Nevers-Magny Cours set the backdrop for some great racing under blue skies with plenty of off-track activities too. 





Thomas/Lockie take Masters Gentlemen Drivers win at Magny-Cours

Julian Thomas and Calum Lockie returned to their winning ways after a dominant display in the Masters Gentlemen Drivers race at Magny-Cours. Leading from start to finish, except for one lap during the pitstop phase, their Shelby Cobra Daytona Coupé was in class of its own.

The chase was led by Andrew Haddon’s CLP-class-winning Lotus and the Leo Voyazides/Simon Hadfield Daytona Cobra. When Haddon was hit by a 10-second time penalty, Hadfield took second place by closing on Haddon just enough. Haddon’s lead at the finish was six seconds.

Frenchman Didier Gruau took fourth in his AC Cobra, having run third early on. In fifth, Ron Maydon grabbed second in the CLP class, his Ginetta G4R battling with the José & Brady Beltramelli Corvette until that became a late retirement. Fighting back after an unscheduled early pitstop, Mark Martin completed the under-2-litre podium by claiming sixth overall. 

Finishing an incredible seventh overall, the Michiel van Duijvendijk/Pascal Pandelaar Porsche 904/4 won the C1 class, while Billy Bellinger and Keith Ahlers took their Morgan Plus 4 Super Sports to 12th overall and the C2 class win.

Stretton converts pole to win in first FIA Masters Historic Formula One race at Magny-Cours

Martin Stretton led from start to finish to claim his second FIA Masters Historic Formula One win in three races, the Tyrrell 012 driver holding off local hero Soheil Ayari whose Ligier-Matra JS17 hounded the winner all the way. Matteo Ferrer-Aza was third in his Ligier JS11/15. 

Mike Cantillon (Williams FW07D) and Steve Hartley (McLaren MP4/1) fought over fourth place all race, Hartley moving in front on lap 5 but losing the place back to Cantillon shortly before the safety car was called on lap 14. Christophe d’Ansembourg (Williams FW07C) and Jamie Constable (Tyrrell 011) had been battling over sixth when they touched, leaving the latter stranded out on the circuit. The race finished under the safety car. Afterwards, Hartley was penalised for overtaking under the safety car, which dropped him to eighth overall – and pole for tomorrow’s race! 

Equally, Henry Fletcher (March 761) led the pre-78 class all the way, initially running sixth overall before seeing D’Ansembourg and Constable move past. Patrick d’Aubréby (March 761) and Jason Wright (Shadow DN8) completed the pre-78 podium, the Frenchman and the American never more than a second apart. 

Voyazides/Hadfield win tense Masters Pre-66 Touring Car race at Magny-Cours

Leo Voyazides and Simon Hadfield claimed victory in a very tense Masters Pre-66 Touring Car race at Magny-Cours, after a race-long fight with the other Ford Falcon of Julian Thomas and Calum Lockie.

Voyazides drove a strong opening stint, keeping Thomas behind for 23 minutes of the race before finally succumbing to his rival’s pressure. That left Hadfield with a deficit of 4.7 seconds to Lockie – and with a series of fastest laps he closed down the gap. A first attempt went awry when Lockie locked up and touched Hadfield but two laps later another lock-up by Lockie helped Hadfield to take the inside line into the Adelaide hairpin and move past. 

Mark Martin overcame his gearbox problems to haul his Cortina up to third overall, having initially dropped down to sixth. Tom Bell took an amazing fourth overall, making it four out of four Mini class wins to continue his exceptional season. Eventually taking second in the Cortina class, Geoff Letts ran a close third to Voyazides and Thomas in the first half of the race, but brother Alan was then unable to keep Martin and Bell behind.

Voyazides/Hadfield double up in FIA Masters Historic Sports Car race at Magny-Cours

Leo Voyazides and Simon Hadfield made it two wins in one morning by claiming FIA Masters Sports Car honours at Magny-Cours, having already won Sunday’s opening Masters Pre-66 Touring Car race. In his opening stint, Voyazides kept his foot down to hand Hadfield a slim lead on the Jason Wright/Andy Wolfe Lola T70 Mk3B and the Henry Fletcher/Martin O’Connell Chevron B26, after which Hadfield controlled the gap to the chequered flag – despite a 5-second penalty for pitlane speeding and the engine running on seven cylinders two laps from the end.

Agonisingly, the Wright/Wolfe Lola dropped out on the final lap, handing a distant second place to Fletcher and O’Connell, with Manfredo Rossi inheriting third in the Osella-Abarth PA1. Wright and Wolfe were still classified fourth, ahead of the Chevron B19 shared by Matt & Mike Wrigley.

Two spins by Chris Jolly in the Cooper Monaco T61M shared with Steve Farthing gave Keith Ahlers and Billy Bellinger the cushion they needed to absorb a stop-and-go penalty for missing the pit window in their Cooper Monaco King Cobra, the pair going on for another pre-66 Hulme class win. John Sheldon (Chevron B16) won the Siffert class while Frazer Gibney (Chevron B8) headed the Bonnier class after Mark Owen’s similar B8 retired on lap 10.


Ferrer-Aza takes third FIA Masters Historic Formula One win of the season at Magny-Cours

Matteo Ferrer-Aza survived a chaotic first few laps to take his ex-Jacques Laffite Ligier JS11/15 to a popular FIA Masters Historic Formula One victory, in front of the car’s home crowd and in the presence of its former driver. It was the Italian’s third win of the season.

From fifth on the grid, Ferrer had to take avoiding action in the eventful opening stages that saw Henry Fletcher (March 761) and local hero Soheil Ayari (Ligier JS17) clash and Christophe d’Ansembourg (Williams FW07C) spin in front of him, but he came through to remove the pole-sitting McLaren MP4/1 of Steve Hartley from the lead on lap 7. Hartley continued to chase Ferrer hard until the chequered flag while himself being harried by Mike Cantillon’s Williams FW07D. Behind them, Jonathan Holtzman powered through from the back of the grid to take a strong fourth.

Andrew Haddon shone to take fifth overall and the pre-78 class win in his Hesketh 308C. James Hagan made it a pre-78 Hesketh double when Jason Wright (Shadow DN8) tangled with Mark Hazell (Williams FW08) on the final lap. Wright was still classified ninth to take third in class, while Georg Hallau (Theodore N183) profited from Hazell’s demise to finish seventh overall and claim victory in the post-83 class for flat-bottomed cars.

Yesterday’s winner Martin Stretton (Tyrrell 012) and pre-78 class second-place finisher Patrick d’Aubréby (March 761) were non-starters.